The County Court Judges Criminal Courts (R.S.O. 1950, c. 74).—These are criminal courts held in every county and district in the Province for the speedy trial of indictable offences under Part XVIII of the Criminal Code. They are presided over by the county or district court judge sitting without a jury. They have jurisdiction to try, on the election of the accused, any indictable offence except those set out in Sect. 583 of the Criminal Code.

Surrogate Courts (R.S.O. 1950, c. 380).—There is a surrogate court for each county or district. The court has jurisdiction to deal with probate and administration matters and is presided over by the county or district court judge.

Division Courts (R.S.O. 1950, c. 106).—There are 248 division courts throughout the Province. These are presided over by the county or district court judge who sits in the jurisdiction where the particular division court is located. Jurisdiction is limited to cases up to 200 except where there is a written contract or a promise in which case jurisdiction extends to 400.

Juvenile Courts (R.S.O. 1950, c. 193).—The juvenile courts for Ontario have jurisdiction in juvenile cases under provincial legislation; in addition they are juvenile courts for the purposes of the federal Juvenile Delinquents Act. The judges are appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council; sometimes the county or district judge is appointed, sometimes the local magistrate and sometimes a person is appointed specially for the purpose of acting as a juvenile court judge.

Magistrates (R.S.O. 1950, c. 219).—Magistrates are appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council. They have limited civil and criminal jurisdiction and are ex officio justices of the peace.

Justices of the Peace (R.S.O. 1950, c. 192).—Justices of the peace are appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council. They have limited civil and criminal jurisdiction.

Manitoba.--Court of Appeal (R.S.M. 1940, c. 40).-The Court of Appeal consists of a chief justice, who is called the Chief Justice of Manitoba, and four other judges. All judges are appointed by the Governor General in Council. The Court has general appellate jurisdiction throughout the Province.

Court of Queen's Bench (R.S.M. 1940, c. 34).—The Court consists of a chief justice, who is known as the Chief Justice of the Queen's Bench, and five other judges. All judges are appointed by the Governor General in Council. The Court has unlimited original jurisdiction in civil and criminal cases throughout the Province.

County Courts (R.S.M. 1940, c. 42).—The Province is divided into six judicial districts and a number of county courts are established for each district. There are five judges for the Eastern Judicial District and each of the other districts has one judge. A judge has jurisdiction over all county courts within the judicial district to which he is appointed. These courts have criminal jurisdiction and also jurisdiction, generally, in claims not exceeding \$800 but have no jurisdiction in certain types of actions such as recovery of land.

Surrogate Courts (R.S.M. 1940, c. 45).—There is a surrogate court for each judicial district and the Surrogate Courts Act provides that the county court judge in each judicial district is to be the judge of the surrogate court of that district. These courts have jurisdiction and authority in relation to testamentary matters.